Best Brunch Spots in Arlington and Alexandria, Virginia


By Natalie Anne ❤

I moved to Northern Virginia less than a year ago, and in this short time, have brunched as much as possible. Luckily, in my neighborhood there are plenty of delicious restaurants that know how to brunch well. For my brunching experience, I almost exclusively order some combination of Eggs Benedict, my absolute favorite dish of all time. So if you really don’t like poached eggs topped with a creamy, delicious Hollandaise sauce blend, then this list may not be for you, unless of course I can change your mind.

Bayou Bakery

The first morning I woke up as an official Arlington resident, I walked down the street to check out the nearby bakery and cafe, Bayou Bakery. I was hoping for a trendy, fun experience with tasty food, and it definitely fulfilled my expectations. Their beignets are warm and rolled in a generous portion of powdered sugar. And if you want to try a bit of heaven catch a slice of their Quiche du Jour.

BR 1.jpg

 

Fontaine Caffe and Creperie

Old Town Alexandria is the most idyllic location for brunching. The brick buildings and waterfront offer a pristine atmosphere to wake up and smell the coffee to. Fontaine’s had a bit of a wait when we arrived on a Sunday morning due to limited space, but their menu was worth it. Although it is a creperie, and I love crepes, I was dying to try their “Breakfast Bruschetta” on the menu. It is composed of brioche bread topped with two fried eggs, pancetta, tomato, and drizzled with a pesto aioli and olive oil. It was amazing to say the least.

Fuego

If indulging in a surplus of Mexican food and margaritas is your idea of a perfect brunch, then you absolutely have to try Fuego in Clarendon. It offers a three course brunch menu for a fixed price with everything from tacos, queso, guacamole, enchiladas, omelettes as well as savory desserts. Their portions are no joke so be ready to take some boxes home. I of course recommend the Mexican Benedict with Chorizo and Chipotle Hollandaise. Their Churros are an absolute must as well.

Del Ray Cafe

Del Ray in Alexandria is situated in a quaint two-story country house and emphasizes an organic farm to table experience. It feels like you’re eating at a neighbors house and enjoying the simple pleasures of life. Myles and I were on our way out of town to our grandmother’s annual Christmas party and stopped here for a little detour. We split the Eggs Benedict on a Croissant and the French Toast topped with Strawberry and Rhubarb Compote. It’s always so hard for us to decide between savory and sweet, so we opted for both.

BR 9

Fireworks Pizza

I wasn’t really expecting a pizza-focused restaurant to have the best brunch options, but I was gladly proved wrong by Fireworks Pizza. They have a smaller brunch menu, but I usually like this better so I don’t have to make so many decisions. I went one morning with a friend who was visiting for a weekend from New York. I texted her the brunch menu and when we saw the description of their Eggs Benedict served over Parmesan Polenta and topped with avocado, we knew we had to try it and we suggest you do too.

BR 10

Leave a Reply

