Jasberry Rice Pudding with Coconut and Honey Banana Slices


By Natalie Anne ❤

I woke up this morning with the sun streaming into my apartment after what seemed like a never-ending row of days with rainy and cloudy weather. I had a hair appointment at a new salon I was kinda nervous about…But once I got my hair cut and colored, I knew I finally met my hair guru/stylist soulmate. When I got back to my apartment with a new cut and fresh attitude, I knew it was time to try Try the World‘s Jasberry Rice Pudding recipe from their Thailand Box. I wanted to add a side of fruit to it, so I found a recipe for fried bananas and incorporated that into the dish.

I followed the Try the World recipe except I added a spoonful of white sugar to the brown sugar and a little bit of their coconut flower syrup to the pudding as well as a few drops of vanilla extract after I removed the pudding from heat at the end.

Ingredients:

  • ⅔ cup Jasberry rice
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 13.7 oz. can coconut milk, stirred
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • Fruit (optional), for garnish

Rice pudding 2

Directions:

1. Bring the rice, salt, and 3½ cups water to a boil. Cover, reduce the heat, and let simmer 35 minutes.

2. Strain, then return the rice the pot. Stir in 1½ cups coconut milk and sugar and bring to a boil over high heat, then reduce and let simmer, stirring occasionally for about 20 minutes.

3. Let cool. Transfer to 4 bowls, add the remaining coconut milk, and garnish with fruit.

Fried Bananas in Coconut Oil topped with Honey and Cinnamon (recipe borrowed from PaleoLeap

Ingredients:

1 sliced banana

2 Tbsp. Honey

1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon

2 Tbsp. Coconut Oil

Directions:

  1. Combine the honey with ¼ cup of warm water and mix well.
  2. Heat the coconut oil in a skillet placed over medium-high heat.
  3. Add the banana slices to the skillet and fry for 2 minutes on each side.
  4. Remove the skillet from the heat and pour the honey mixture on top.
  5. Sprinkle with cinnamon and serve.

rice pudding 1

Bon Appetit!

 

2 thoughts on “Jasberry Rice Pudding with Coconut and Honey Banana Slices

Leave a Reply

