Japanese Matcha Shortbread Cookies


Tot 1

By Natalie Anne ❤

I’ve been so obsessed with my Thailand Box from Try the World that I accidentally neglected my Japan Box, which has so much to offer. So yesterday during a lazy Sunday, I decided to get out my Japan Box and make a recipe. I saw one for these Matcha Shortbread Cookies and knew I had found my answer. My mother gave me a Totoro rolling pin for Christmas I had been dying to use so this was the perfect recipe!I cut the recipe in half, since I was low on butter and didn’t need want to tempt myself with 24 cookies in my apartment.

Tot 2

I followed the recipe, with one small twist of using half brown sugar/half white sugar for the sugar portion of the recipe. Other than that, I followed the same ingredients and directions from TTW’s recipe and they turned out so cute and delicious:

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups flour, plus more for rolling
  • 2 Tbsp. matcha green tea powder
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 2 sticks butter, at room temperature
  • ½ cup sugar

Tot 3

DIRECTIONS

1. Combine the flour, matcha, and salt in a small bowl. In a medium bowl, beat the butter until creamy, about 5 minutes. Add the sugar and continue to beat until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes more. Gently stir in the flour mixture until just incorporated.

2. Place a piece of parchment paper on a work surface and dust with flour. Roll the cookie dough to ¼-inch thick. Chill until firm, about 30 minutes.

3. Preheat the oven to 325°F and line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Cut out cookie rounds using a cookie-cutter and transfer to the baking sheets. Gather, roll, and cut out the scraps once more. Chill until firm, about 10 minutes.

4. Bake until a knife inserted into the middle of a cookie comes out clean, about 15 minutes. Cool on a wire rack and serve. Store in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

Tot 4

Tot 5

Leave a Reply

