Easy Peanut Pad Thai & Tamarind Margaritas


by Myles Katherine ❤

I’ve been wanting to make pad thai forever but I always found it a bit intimidating. It seemed like I would need so many ingredients and I was worried that it just wouldn’t taste as good as it does at restaurants. I ended up surprising myself though, and it was one of the best meals I’ve made in a while! I prefer my pad thai sauce with a little extra peanut flavor, so I created my own peanut pad thai sauce. The recipe I adapted it from was super easy, especially if you have a Vitamix blender. I threw all of the ingredients in there, and voila! A dual use recipe as a dipping sauce for my fresh vegetable rolls (I’ll be posting these tomorrow!) and a pad thai sauce. I also made vegetable spring rolls & had sticky rice with mango for dessert, but I’ll create a post tomorrow about those. 🙂

Pad Thai Ingredients:

(serves 2-4)

Sauce:

  • ½ cup smooth peanut butter, preferably natural
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened coconut milk or cream
  • 1 ½ tablespoons lime juice, more as needed
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons grated ginger root
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • ½ teaspoon sriracha or other hot sauce
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar
  • ¼ teaspoon plus a pinch kosher salt, more as needed
  • 1/3 cup tamarind concentrate – This is what really gives it the pad thai flavor, so add more as needed for that tangy flavor that pad thai is known for! I purchased it at a local asian food market, along with the pad thai noodles used below.

Dish:

  • 1 package extra firm tofu
  • 1 TBSP sesame oil
  • 2-4 servings of noodles, prepared as needed
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 Egg
  • Cilantro, for garnish
  • Lime, for garnish
  • Fresh bean sprouts, about a cup
  • Crushed peanuts, about 2 TBSP
  • 2-3 green onions, chopped
  1. In a food processor or blender, combine peanut butter, coconut milk/cream, 3 tablespoons hot water, lime juice, sugar, soy sauce, ginger, rice vinegar, garlic, sriracha, tamarind concentrate and a pinch of salt. Purée until smooth. Add more lime juice and or salt to taste. Scrape into a bowl.
  2. Sauté the tofu in a pan with the sesame oil until browned on all sides. Transfer to a plate. Prepare the noodles as labeled on the package. I purchased fresh noodles from a local market so they didn’t require pre-cooking.
  3. Add onions and garlic to the pan and sauté with leftover sesame oil and a tsp of coconut oil for about 2 minutes over medium heat, until fragrant.
  4. Add in the tofu, cooked noodles, egg and peanut sauce to the pan and sautee over low heat, just until warmed and egg is cooked thoroughly.
  5. Serve! Garnish with cilantro, bean sprouts, lime wedges, crushed peanuts and chopped green onions.

    Tamarind Margaritas Ingredients:

    (adapted from Flaming Tortillas – 4 servings)

    • 4 ounces tequila
    • 2 ounces Triple Sec- or any orange liqueur
    • 1/3 cup tamarind concentrate
    • Sparkling water (optional)
    •  Ice
    • 1 lime (juiced), plus wedges for garnish

1. Fill glasses with ice.
2. In a cocktail shaker (or blender) with ice add the tequila, triple sec, tamarind juice, and lime juice.
3. Pour into the salt-rimmed glasses (I’m not a salt fan, but most people are!) and top off with sparkling water and lime wedges, if using.

Tip: I like my margaritas pretty sweet, so I added extra Triple Sec and tamarind concentrate!

Thanks for reading! Leave a comment below if you’ve tried the recipe, and let us know what you think!

Leave a Reply

