A Weekend of the Best DC Restaurants


My sister and I don’t get to see each other often, but when we do we always make it a point to try out some new restaurants together. In March, I flew to DC to photograph a Saturday wedding in Charlottesville. I stayed with Natalie in Arlington while I was there and we went to some of the tastiest restaurants I’ve ever been to. Literally everywhere we went was amazing.

Best Beer Garden | Courthaus Social in Arlington, Va

After a long plane flight into DC, I was ready for a drink. My sister suggested this place since it was within walking distance of her apartment. After dealing with endless rain in Portland, I just needed a restaurant with an outside patio and alcohol. This was the perfect place. We ordered a giant pretzel and a few different happy hour items. We people-watched and took way too many photos of our food and ourselves. If you’re looking for beer, a fun atmosphere and delicious happy hour plates, go here.

Best Thai Food | Sawatdee in Arlington, Va

Also within walking distance of my sister’s apartment, we weren’t sure what to expect. However, this thai food was delicious. Perfectly fresh vegetable rolls and a tasty pad thai. Also with an outdoor patio and refreshing drinks. Definitely recommend if you’re looking for Thai Food in Arlington.

Best Happy Hour | Thunder Burger Bar in Georgetown, Va

We kind of accidentally stumbled upon Thunder Burger Bar. I had read an article online that it has amazing burgers, but we were just on the look out for some appetizers and a happy hour drink (yet again). We both ordered margaritas and an assortment of items off of the happy hour menu. Everything was delicious, the only problem was that we had tons of leftover food to eat for later! And that’s not really a problem. 🙂 Next time I’ll have to try a burger!

Best Cupcakes | Georgetown Cupcakes in Georgetown, Va

We always make it a point to get cupcakes when my sister and I are together. Georgetown is our go-to. They have festive flavors and amazing icing. While I wouldn’t say these are the best cupcakes I’ve ever had, it’s always an experience going there. The line is usually pretty long so it’s a nice time to just enjoy the hustle and bustle of Georgetown.

dcwparents

Best Brunch | Bearnaise in Washington, DC

SO GOOD. It’s a little off the beaten path, but totally worth it. We were worried that it would be packed with people on a Saturday but we didn’t even have to wait in line! It has a lovely French vibe and the food is incredible. The Eggs Benedict was perfect, and the Croque Monsieur was one of the best I’ve had in the US. I thoroughly enjoyed this brunch spot. It was quiet and bright, the perfect brunch vibe.

Best Coffee | Le Pain Quotidien in Arlington, Va

We ended up going here twice because we loved it so much. While it is a chain restaurant, it’s one of the best chain restaurants I’ve ever experienced. Everything was impeccable, from the coffee to the Belgian Waffles. A bit on the pricey side, so I’m glad I don’t have one of these in my neighborhood, I’d go there all the time! I ended up going home with some of their Speculoos spread, yum!

Best Italian | Il Porto Ristorante in Alexandria, Va

I love Italian food. I was looking forward to this meal from the second I arrived in DC. Sometimes you just need a good glass of red wine and a pasta dish. Il Porto Ristorante did not disappoint. Incredible service, food and dessert. The atmosphere was perfect with the stone walls and dim lighting. Definitely on the fancy side, but I would go here again in a heartbeat. Everything was incredibly fresh and full of flavor. My sister said it was the best lasagna she’s ever had!

Best Ramen | Momofuku in Washington, DC

Hands down my new favorite restaurant in DC. I love ramen and any kind of asian-fusion food, so this place was a dream. My dad had never tried ramen or pork buns or any sort of dish like these (crazy, I know), but he loved it! The pork buns melt in your mouth, the ramen is about as tasty as ramen can get and I love that it’s encouraged to share food here. Plus, the simple fact that Milk Bar is attached makes it the ideal restaurant. We got here right before the crowd so we didn’t have to wait in line, but I’d definitely recommend getting here early.

Best Dessert | Milk Bar in Washington, DC

OMG. If I could go here every day I would. Cereal & milk flavored ice cream, confetti cake truffles (my all time favorite dessert now) and crack pie. TRY ALL OF IT. My only regret is that I couldn’t stuff more in my face.

Let us know if you’ve tried any of these restaurants and what you thought of them!

❤ Myles Katherine

dcwparents-65

Leave a Reply

